9/1, 4:21 PM (Source: TeleTrader)
more TeleTrader news


Chart for: Apple

8 US states to introduce digital IDs in Apple Wallet

Apple announced on Wednesday that eight US states have signed up to cooperate with the tech giant to allow residents to add their driver's licenses and state IDs to the Apple Wallet.

Arizona and Georgia will be the first states to introduce the feature, while Connecticut, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Oklahoma, and Utah will follow. Users will be able to add the ID documents to the Wallet by scanning their physical documents, in a similar way they can now add credit cards and transit passes.

The Cupertino-based company added that the US Transportation Security Administration (TSA) will enable select airport security checkpoints and lanes in some airports to become the first places where people can use the digital ID documents. However, Apple did not provide a specific timeline for the introduction of the IDs in the Wallet.

Breaking the News / NP