TELETRADER News
3/31/2016, 3:32 PM (Source: TeleTrader)
more TeleTrader news

American markets open flat, as oil prices drop

Stock markets in the United States opened flat on Thursday, with background of the latest data on unemployment, with initial jobless claim number rising by 11 thousand to a total of 276 thousand. The report on non-farm payrolls is due on Friday. The EIA will publish data on gas inventories after markets open. President of the Chicago Fed Charles Evans holds speech around market opening time. President of the New York Fed William Dudley is scheduled to speak about lessons learned from Great Recession at 5:00 pm. EST (11:00 p.m. CET).

The Dow Jones Industrial Average opened up 0.03% at 17,721 points.

The S&P 500 index started dipped 0.02% to open at 2,063 points.

The Nasdaq 100 index slid 0.02% to open at 4,486 points. Early gainers: NetEase, Inc. up 2.04, Discovery Communications up 1.00%, Western Digital Corporation up 1.03%. Tesla Motors, Inc. gained 0.49% Decliners: Endo International down 2.64%, Micron technology down 2.29%.

The U.S. light sweet crude West Texas Intermediate fell 1.24% to $37.85 a barrel at 3:29 p.m. CET (9:29 a.m. EST), after hitting highest price of $39.98 a barrel. The international benchmark Brent rose 0.05% to $39.28 a barrel, with daily high of $40.52 a barrel, both at the ICE Europe. The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries reported the OPEC daily basket price of 13 crudes at $34.91 a barrel on Wednesday, similar with $34.50 a barrel on Tuesday.

The U.S. dollar index declined 0.37%, as an indicator of strength compared to major world currencies. The greenback lost 0.42% to the euro, 0.56% versus the Swiss franc, and 0.20% against the Japanese yen, while adding 0.11% against the U.K. sterling at 3:29 p.m. CET (9:29 a.m. EST). Gold rose 0.98% to $1,237.01 per troy ounce.

Breaking the News / ZR