TELETRADER News
3/31/2016, 8:37 PM (Source: TeleTrader)
more TeleTrader news

Markets right now: U.S. indexes slip into red zone

Stock markets in the United States were poised to end with losses on Thursday, after a flat start on the last trading day of the month and the quarter. Here's the breakdown at 8:35 pm. CET (2:35 p.m. EST).

The Dow Jones Industrial Average edged down 0.17% to 17,687 points in a rather calm trading session. The Boeing Company was the leading decliner losing 1.01%, Nike Inc. lost 0.92%, and Pfizer Inc. dipped 0.81%. IBM rose 2.09% to lead the advancers, and American Express added 1.66%. The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. climbed up 0.33%.

The Standard and Poor's 500 index slid 0.21% to 2,059 points. Monsanto Company fell 3.56%. Oil companies were on the rise: Marathon Oil Corporation by 6.41%, Southwestern Energy Company by 5.78% and Devon Energy Company by 4.69%. Harley-Davidson, Inc. sped up 3.84%.

The tech-heavy Nasdaq 100 was down 0.21% at 4,481 points. The DISH Network fell 2.62%, and JD.com, Inc. rolled down 2.61%. Incyte Corporation led the advancers, rising 6.35%, BioMarin Pharmaceutical Inc. followed up 5.98%, and Tesla Motors, Inc. rose 4.00% in an apparent anticipation of the new Model 3, to be unveiled at 8:30 p.m. PT (11:30 p.m. EST; 5:30 a.m. CET Friday).

The Nasdaq Composite inched down 0.04% to 4,867 points.

The Russell 2000 index was up 0.37% at 1,114 points.

Oil prices were falling again. The U.S. light sweet crude West Texas Intermediate fell 0.13% to $38.29 a barrel at 8:41 p.m. CET (2:41 p.m. EST), after hitting highest price of $39.01 a barrel. The international benchmark Brent rose 0.78% to $39.57 a barrel, with daily high of $39.92 a barrel, both at the ICE Europe. The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries reported the OPEC daily basket price of 13 crudes at $34.91 a barrel on Wednesday, similar with $34.50 a barrel on Tuesday.

Breaking the News / ZR