TELETRADER News
3/31/2016, 10:12 PM (Source: TeleTrader)
more TeleTrader news

Wall Street: U.S. markets finish with losses

Stock markets in the United States were poised to end with losses on Thursday, after a flat start on the last trading day of the month and the quarter. Here's the breakdown right after the closing bell.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average edged down 0.18% to 17,685 points, and expanded 1.49% for the quarter. Pfizer Inc. was the leading decliner and fell 1.45%. Du Pont lost 1.07%, and the Boeing Company dropped 1.06%. IBM rose 2.18% on shares upgrade and latest news on development of neuromorphic chips (mimicking human brain), and American Express added 2.02%. Microsoft Corporation climbed 0.33% following the latest announcements during its annual Build conference.

The Standard and Poor's 500 index slid 0.20% to 2,059 points, finishing the quarter up 0.78%. The Mosaic Company fell 3.98%, and Monsanto Company fell 3.75%. Oil companies were on the rise: Marathon Oil Corporation by 5.22%, Devon Energy Company by 4.43% and Southwestern Energy Company by 4.29%. Harley-Davidson, Inc. sped up 4.08%.

The tech-laden Nasdaq 100 was down 0.16% at 4,483 points, down 2.39% in the first quarter. The DISH Network fell 2.34%, and JD.com, Inc. rolled down 2.72%. Incyte Corporation led the advancers, rising 6.03%, BioMarin Pharmaceutical Inc. followed up 5.61%, and Tesla Motors, Inc. rose 1.27% in an apparent anticipation of the new Model 3, to be unveiled at 8:30 p.m. PT (11:30 p.m. EST; 5:30 a.m. CET Friday).

The Nasdaq Composite pulled up just 0.01% to close at 4,869 points, posting loss of 2.75% in the quarter.

The Russell 2000 index was up 0.54% at 1,116 points.

The U.S. light sweet crude West Texas Intermediate fell 0.36% to $38.16 a barrel at 10:09 p.m. CET (4:09 p.m. EST), after hitting highest price of $40.38 a barrel. The international benchmark Brent rose 0.78% to $39.57 a barrel, with daily high of $40.85 a barrel, according to data from the ICE Europe. The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries reported the OPEC daily basket price of 13 crudes at $34.91 a barrel on Wednesday, similar with $34.50 a barrel on Tuesday.

The U.S. dollar index declined 0.23%, as an indicator of strength compared to major world currencies. The greenback lost 0.38% to the euro, 0.39% versus the Swiss franc, and 0.10% against the Japanese yen, while adding 0.06% against the U.K. sterling at 10:11 p.m. CET (4:11 p.m. EST). Gold rose 0.57% to $1,231.95 per troy ounce.

Image: Beta/AP

Breaking the News / ZR