TELETRADER News
4/7/2016, 3:34 PM (Source: TeleTrader)
more TeleTrader news

U.S. markets open sharply lower

Stock markets in the United States opened sharply lower, in tune with the trading session seen in Europe. Weekly jobless claim was down to 276 thousand, indicating strong job market. Consumer credit data will follow one hour before markets close. Oil prices were falling by the time markets opened; natural gas inventories report is due one hour after market open. The strength of Japanese yen was source of concern coupled with worries about effectiveness of the policies of central banks.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average fell 0.47% to 17,663 points. All sectors were in decline. Best performers: Merck, Travelers Companies, McDonald's. Worst performers: Verizon, Intel, Caterpillar.

U.S. S&P 500 dropped 0.50% to trade at 2,056 points. Early movers up: Wynn Resort, Bed Bath & Beyond, Hanesbrands. Moving down: F5 Networks, eBay, Freeport-McMoRan, Baker Hughes.

U.S. Nasdaq 100 rolled down 0.57% to 4,517 points. Early winners: Endo, Bed Bath & Beyond, Incyte, Facebook. Decliners: eBay, Costco, Citrix, Yahoo, PayPal.

Nasdaq Composite rolled down 0.58% to 4,891 points.

The U.S. light sweet crude WTI for May delivery fell 0.96% to $37.39 a barrel, and international benchmark Brent for June delivery traded 1.27 lower at $39.34 a barrel at the ICE Europe by 3:28 p.m. CET (9:28 a.m. EDT).

The U.S. dollar index was up 0.12%. The greenback rose 0.42% against the euro, 0.31% versus the U.K. sterling, and 0.13% versus the Swiss franc; it fell 1.52% against the very strong Japanese yen. Gold rose 1.03% to $1,242.18 per troy ounce by 3:33 p.m. CET (9:33 a.m. EDT).

Breaking the News / ZR