New Board Directors of Telenor ASA

5/11/2016, 8:00 PM (Source: GlobeNewswire)

(Fornebu, 11 May 2016) The Corporate Assembly has elected Ashok Vaswani (55), Jacob Aqraou (43) and Siri Beate Halen (59) as new members of the Board of Directors of Telenor ASA. The new directors will succeed Frank Dangeard (58), Marit Vaagen (48) and Burckhard Bergmann (73), who all have requested to be relieved from the Board of Directors.

Jacob Aqraou was born in Denmark in 1972 and lives in Switzerland. Mr. Aqraou had a long career at eBay including positions as Senior Vice President of Europe Middle East and Africa, and General Manager eBay Classifieds Group. Prior to joining eBay in 2002, Aqraou was the founder of Finexia and has also worked in investment banking and management consulting. Aqraou holds a Master's degree in Finance and Accounting from Copenhagen Business School, as well as a Master in Business and Administration from Harvard Business School.

Siri Beate Hatlen was born in Norway in 1957 and lives in Bærum, Norway. Ms. Hatlen has a background from various management positions within private and public sector in Norway, including Executive Vice President of Statkraft and Chief Executive Officer of Oslo University Hospital. She has a long experience from numerous boards of directors, including Vinmonopolet, Helse Øst, Smedvig, PGS, Kongsberggruppen and the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. She currently serves on the boards of among other Sevan Marine, Entra and Eksportkreditt. Hatlen holds a Master of Science in process engineering from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology and a Master of Business Administration from INSEAD in France.

Ashok Vaswani was born in India in 1960 and lives in London, United Kingdom. Mr. Vaswani has held various management positions in Barclays PLC since 2010, and is currently Chief Executive Officer for Barclays UK. From 1987 to 2007, Vaswani held a variety of senior roles in Citibank, including the Chief Administrator Officer for Citi Cards in the United States as well as the Chief Executive Officer for the Consumer Bank across Asia. From 2007 to 2009, Vaswani worked for Brysam Global Partners, which is a private equity firm specializing in consumer banking. Vaswani received his education at Sydenham College of Commerce and Economics in Mumbai in India and also holds post graduate degrees from the Institute of Chartered Accountants in India, specializing in finance, accounting, tax and audit.

Burckhard Bergmann (73), Frank Dangeard (58) and Marit Vaagen (48) have served on the board since 2008, 2011, and 2013 respectively.

After these changes the Board of Directors of Telenor ASA consists of:

  • Gunn Wærsted (chairperson)
  • Ashok Vaswani
  • Jacob Aqraou
  • Siri Beate Hatlen
  • Regi Aalstad
  • Sally Davis
  • Jon Erik Reinhardsen
  • Dag Opedal
  • Per Gunnar Salomonsen (employee representative)
  • Åse Selfjord (employee representative)
  • Harald Stavn (employee representative)


Glenn Mandelid
Head of Media Relations
Telenor Group

Mobile: +47 92 66 13 00

This announcement is distributed by NASDAQ OMX Corporate Solutions on behalf of NASDAQ OMX Corporate Solutions clients.
The issuer of this announcement warrants that they are solely responsible for the content, accuracy and originality of the information contained therein.
Source: Telenor via Globenewswire

Copyright GlobeNewswire, Inc. 2016. All rights reserved.
You can register yourself on the website to receive press releases directly via e-mail to your own e-mail account.