UPS Honors Iowa Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

2/27/2018, 4:00 PM (Source: GlobeNewswire)

DES MOINES, Iowa, Feb. 27, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced that 21 elite drivers from Iowa are among 1,582 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.  

Iowa boasts 102 Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 2,151 years of accident-free driving. Cleo Underwood of Des Moines is the state’s senior-most safe driver, with 42 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 999 total full-time UPS drivers in Iowa. 

Globally, 10,504 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor.  Collectively they’ve racked up 257,221 years and nearly 14 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to the moon and back almost 29,000 times.

”My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said George Willis, president, UPS West Region. “Their attention to detail has kept them safe and has helped improve public safety.”

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 55 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 49 years of safe driving. One hundred twenty six others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 127,000 small package drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering nearly 5 billion packages annually. 

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following page lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center.  If you’re interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact UPS Public Relations at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of Iowa drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

DriverHometownUPS Work Location
Basquin,  SteveHiawathaDavenport
Bootsma,  DougSanbornSpencer
Cizek,  DallasBettendorfDavenport
Faust,  ThomasNorth LibertyCoralville
Grovert,  RobertCedar RapidsHiawatha
Hansen,  BrianAmanaHiawatha
Havnen,  JamesAnkenyDes Moines
Hill,  BradleyColfaxDes Moines
Howe,  JosephDubuqueDubuque
Linderman,  DennisCrestonCreston
Maske,  MichaelIowa CityCoralville
McDevitt,  DavidSioux CitySioux City
Mitchell,  JesseCedar RapidsHiawatha
Ring,  JesseAmesAmes
Runge,  DonCliveDes Moines
Spence,  ThomasMarshalltownMarshalltown
Spenner,  WilliamSioux CitySioux City
Sunken,  TonyFort DodgeFort Dodge
Toth,  GeorgeAmesAmes
Wascher,  ScottAnkenyDes Moines
Wilderman,  KellyPanoraDes Moines

UPS Public Relations

Primary Logo

Copyright GlobeNewswire, Inc. 2016. All rights reserved.
You can register yourself on the website to receive press releases directly via e-mail to your own e-mail account.