10/2/2018, 12:31 PM (Source: TeleTrader)
more TeleTrader news

Nobel Prize in Physics goes to laser researchers

The Royal Swedish Academy of Science (RSAS) awarded on Tuesday its Nobel Prize in Physics to researchers in the field of laser technology. The prize will be split between Arthur Ashkin on one side and Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland on the other side. The RSAS branded the scientists' work as "groundbreaking in the field of laser physics."

The laser physics research is focused on developing extra-sharp laser beams for extreme precision drilling or cutting, even in the living matter, making it especially useful for eye operations. American physicist Ashkin has been awarded the prize for his invention of optical tweezers that allow manipulation of tiny particles. Meanwhile, the other two scientists from Canada, Mourou, and Donna developed extremely short laser impulses with great intensity.

The Nobel Prize recipients will be awarded $1 million to split between them for their contribution to the field of physics.

Breaking the News / VK