3/28/2021, 3:24 PM (Source: TeleTrader)
more TeleTrader news

Countries not repatriating could face EU visa limits - report

The European Commission may impose Schengen visa restrictions on thirteen countries that do not collaborate sufficiently on the repatriation of their citizens from the European Union, Welt am Sonntag reported on Sunday.

The countries the bloc believes are "systematically obstructing" the process are Iraq, Iran, Libya, Senegal, Somalia, Mali, Cameroon, the Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, and Guinea-Bissau. According to sources, the commission will introduce such restrictions if those governments failed to cooperate with Brussels and improve their policies over the matter.

The news comes shortly after the report the EU was planning to slash the funds for Greece's response to the waves of migrants coming to its territory from €3.5 billion to €1 billion.

Baha Breaking News (BBN) / JR