5/7/2021, 7:40 PM (Source: TeleTrader)
more TeleTrader news

UEFA sanctions nine Super League founders

UEFA announced on Friday it has allowed the reintegration of nine out of 12 clubs founders of the European Super League, while on the other hand, these football clubs accepted to pay a fine in response to UEFA's move.

"Those nine clubs acknowledge and accept that the Super League project was a mistake and apologize to fans, national associations, national leagues, fellow European clubs and UEFA. They have also recognized that the project would not have been authorized under UEFA Statutes and Regulations," the statement noted.

The clubs which accepted the measures, fully described on the UEFA's website, are Arsenal, Milan, Chelsea, Atletico Madrid, Inter, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United as well as Tottenham. "In accepting their commitments and willingness to repair the disruption they caused, UEFA wants to put this chapter behind it and move forward in a positive spirit," UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin commented.

Baha Breaking the News (BBN) / ND