10/5/2022, 9:10 AM (Source: TeleTrader)
more TeleTrader news

Putin signs laws on accession of 4 regions

Russian President Vladimir Putin signed constitutional laws on the Donetsk (DPR) and Lugansk People's Republics (LPR), as well as Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions to Russia, thus approving the parliament's ratification of treaties signed last week with the Russian-held Ukrainian regions.

The DPR, LPR, Kherson and Zaporizhzhia will now enter a transition period that will last until 2026. From next year, the regions will adopt the Russian ruble as their sole monetary unit, according to the documents. The residents of the regions will be recognized as Russian citizens and those who wish to renounce their citizenship will have a month to submit requests for that.

The four regions voted in favor of joining Russia in referendums held in September, but the West and Ukraine branded the votes "sham" and have insisted they will never recognize them.

Baha Breaking News (BBN) / NP