TELETRADER News
4/4/2016, 3:33 PM (Source: TeleTrader)
more TeleTrader news

Opening bell: American markets start trade on lower foot

Stock markets in the United States opened slightly lower on Monday, which was indicated in futures trading in half an hour before markets opened. Investors were closely watching movement in oil prices, and also awaiting more of the comments from members of the U.S. Federal Reserves.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average opened just 0.11% lower at 17,776 points.

The S&P 500 inched up 0.07% at 2,071 points.

The tech-laden Nasdaq 100 dipped 0.08% to open at 4,527 points. Early winners: Tesla Motors, Inc. jumped 4.35%, Express Scripts rose 1.27% and Endo International added 1.98%. Decliners: Facebook 1.53%, Cisco 1.36%, Fastenal 1.66%.

The U.S. dollar index was down 0.13%. The greenback fell 0.08% against the euro, 0.29% versus the Japanese yen, evened against the Swiss franc, and was stronger 0.51% versus the U.K. sterling at 3:35 p.m. CET (9:35 a.m. EST).

The U.S. light sweet crude WTI for May deliveries contracted 0.24% lower at $36.70 a barrel, after reaching daily high of $39.31 a barrel. The international bench mark Brent fell 0.67% to $38.41 a barrel, with earlier daily high of $38.92 a barrel, as reported by the ICE Europe at 3:28 p.m. CET (9:28 a.m. EST).

Breaking the News / ZR